‘Annoying’ Gets Noticed

Everyone knows that to get noticed you have to stand out but just emailing a company over and over again won’t cut it anymore. It’s all about personality.

I remember when I had to do a 2 week work experience placement during year 10 at secondary school and it was pretty much seen as a 2 week holiday from school. At that age I didn’t know what I wanted to do as a career, I’m pretty sure I had my heart set on being an estate agent or something. It certainly wasn’t seen as a chance to gain much real-life experience, unlike university placements. Of course many students chose retail placements like Boots and New Look in the hope that they would get part-time jobs afterwards, but not me. I chose to work for 2 weeks at CrazyUdder milkshake shop, which later lost all its income and closed down. I learnt nothing from this placement as I spent the whole time either mopping the floor or sat waiting for the floor to get dirty.

However, as part of my course I have to complete 2x 2 week placements during next summer and I know they’re going to be fast-paced and a lot of hard work. There will be hundreds of students from many universities fighting for placements in the best agencies, especially within London, and everyone will be trying to stand out in some way or another.

You know how there’s always that one kid in your class who never shuts up… Not in a naughty way but in a clever and intimidating way. They’re always the first to shout out the answer and they always get it right… Well that’s who you need to be. Whilst everyone else is sitting back not wanting to answer or not wanting to volunteer to give an example, you need to be the one who does because then you’re the one who’s going to be remembered. Being the know-it-all may be annoying to the rest of your course mates, but then again the rest of your course mates all want the same job as you and you’re the one who’s going to get noticed. That’s the main lesson I’ve learnt from my first year of university, not to make friends with everyone and not to go to every party but to know what you’re talking about and talk about it with the right people. 

Leave a Reply

